a whole new year + a cold-squashing citrus smoothie

.. did anyone else think of Aladdin’s “A Whole New World”? C’mon, don’t lie! I totally have that song stuck in my head right now. A whole new worlddd (don’t you dare close your eyes). A new fantastic point of viewwww..

a whole new world

Anyway, HAPPY NEW YEAR! How has 2014 been treating you so far?

I always love the concept of starting fresh at the beginning of a new year. I know January 1 is really just like any other day, but I love the symbolism behind it and like to take the time to reflect on the year that’s been and the year that will be. Looking back on photos and memories from the year makes me feel so happy and fortunate to have been able to have all the experiences that I had and to spend time with all the amazing people in my life 🙂 (mush alert, over here!)

happy new year 2014

It’s also so great to think about how you want the new year to go and what steps you can take (i.e. setting goals + resolutions) to make it the best year yet. Some of my big resolutions for this year include: trying not to worry about the future (I’m so guilty of this) and to try to generally be more “present” and in the moment, to read at least one book per month and to pay off my student debt. Other goals are career-related & fun (including trying at least one new experience per month, whether it’s a new restaurant or taking an interesting class!). D and I also discuss our goals together and think of some as a couple. One ritual we’ve started this year has been to begin every weekend morning with some tea (total granny right here) in the bed. It’s been SO awesome to slowly ease into the day and take time to read, chat, just relax, etc. There’s honestly no better way to start the weekend! 🙂

Have you made any resolutions for the new year? What are you excited for in the coming months?

***

In addition to wishing the bloggy world a HAPPY NEW YEAR, I also wanted to share with you a great new recipe for a smoothie that will stop any cold dead in its tracks!

This recipe was inspired by a juice I tried at a new little spot in the West Queen West ‘hood (Queen & Dufferin) called Bolt. Bolt is an awesome cafe specializing in juices, smoothies, salads, grain bowls & chillis. All the ingredients they use are super healthy & fresh. When I was deciding what to order, the girl helping me out recommended their “Spicy Citrus” juice after I told her that I thought I was coming down with a cold.

bolt fresh bar toronto

The experience with this “Spicy Citrus” was one of love and hate. It was painful, yet still oddly enjoyable. This juice is SO healthy, but deadly spicy and “zingy” (is that a word?). It made my nose turn into a faucet. I pushed through it and was glad I did, because this magical juice saved my life! Ok, maybe that’s giving it too much credit. But it honestly did stop whatever sickness I was coming down with!

Since I feel like I may be battling the beginning stages of another cold, I decided to attempt a re-create of this magical juice at home. We don’t have a juicer, so I used a blender to throw this together. I altered the ingredients a bit to make it a little more appetizing, though I must admit it’s still not quite as good as the one at Bolt. Part of that may be because the smoothie form is quite “pulpy” (am I selling you on this juice yet?!).

So, if you feel a little tingle in your throat or a sniffle coming your way, do yourself a favour and try making this smoothie. It may taste super sour/spicy/generally funky, but I promise you that it will give you a mega-dose of vitamin C & other amazing nutrients found in the spices that will amp up your immune system to help ward off some of the nasty sicknesses that are going around this season.

citrus smoothie 

Not only is there an insane amount of vitamin C in this smoothie, but it also has some superpower spices, like cayenne + ginger!

Cayenne is known to have anti-irritant, anti-cold and flu and anti-fungal properties. It’s also a well-known digestive aid, stimulating the digestive tract by increasing the flow of enzyme production & gastric juices. It’s also used in detox support (it’s a circulatory stimulant). Basically, it’s a powerhouse spice that you just can’t go wrong with 😉

Ginger is also delicious + an easy spice to add to smoothies. You can buy fresh gingerroot at the grocery store for under $1, put it right in the freezer + grate it in smoothies for weeks! It’s been known to increase the absorption of essential nutrients in the body, clears the circulatory channels of the body (including sinus) & is great for any tummy troubles.

Soooo.. be brave & try this bad-ass smoothie out. It’s kind of like Buckley’s… it tastes awful but it works. Except it’s not thattt awful.

***

I hope you had an excellent weekend + are looking forward to the week ahead! For those that watch the Bachelor, who’s excited to see the second episode of Mr. Juan Pablo? Who are your picks? I’m pulling for Nikki, Chelsea, Kat, Alli and Andi. Things can change QUITE quickly in that show, though, so don’t judge by my picks right now!

Happy Sunday!

Love,

A xo

Leave a Reply

