moroccan lentil vegetable soup

Happy Thursday, friends! The weekend is almost here. Okay, don’t hate me.. but… the weekend actually is here for me already. I’ve got myself a long weekend ahead of me and it’s going to be gloriously jam-packed with social activities and fun. The only issue is that I may have pink eye, which is kind of awkward and makes me feel like I’m ten-years-old again 😦

Anyway, back to the fun! Tomorrow (Friday), my mama is coming in for some girly time (which includes lunch and shopping!) and then I’m having a girls night in involving a little bit of pizza and a lot of wine. Saturday, I’m going to the Delicious Food Show with three girlfriends (Martha Stewart will be in attendance!) and then going to a Halloween party {Duncan and I have a pretty epic costume planned. Just you wait ;)}. Sunday, D and I are going to the Toronto Art Show and then having our Sunday Funday Walking Dead-watching extravaganza with Kerry & Alex. Phew. Oh, and I’m going to try to squeeze some working out, meal planning and grocery shopping in there too 😉

Not to boast or anything, but this week I made a really delicious soup. It was so different than others I’ve made before (Mexican or Thai soups, anyone?!). As soon as I had my first sip, I thought YUMYUM-OMG-YUM and then went onto “I can’t wait to share this on my blog!”

Not only is this soup tasty, but it’s UBER healthy, filling (thanks to a hearty dose of protein and fibre!), gluten-free, dairy-free and vegetarian. Ready?

moroccan lentil soup

Moroccan Lentil Soup

Serves: 4-6 (I made a big batch and had some for lunch the following day & also froze several portions)

-What you need:

  • -2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3/4 c. chopped carrots (I chopped up baby carrots, but you could also use the biggies)
  • 1 medium sweet onion, diced
  • sea salt + black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. chile flakes or red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin + dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3 minced garlic cloves
  • 2 cups dried red lentils
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled + diced
  • 8 cups of vegetable or chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • a few bunches of kale, chopped finely
  • fresh chopped parsley for garnish
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges

-What to do:

  1. Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven (seriously, the largest you have. Mine was over flowing, big time). Add the carrots + saute until softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the onion, salt, pepper flakes, cumin, cinnamon + oregano. Saute for 3 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic + saute until fragrant, 1-2 minutes.
  4. Add the stock, sweet potato, lentils, + bay leaves and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low + simmer, partly covered, stirring occasionally for 20-30 minutes. NOTE: you can add the finely-chopped kale when there is 10-15 minutes remaining.
  5. Remove bay leaves. Season with salt + freshly squeezed lemon quarter. Garnish with parsley (optional)

***

I have a feeling this is going to be another fall/winter full of soups + stews. I became slightly obsessed with cooking such creations last year and can feel it coming on again. I love that it’s super easy to make a huge batch + save portions for lunches throughout the week. Anything easy = welcome in my book.

Also, another random musing from me here. This week at work we were asked to fill out a survey, and if we did, we were promised to receive some candy in return (nothing like the power of bribing with sugar… gets me every time!). I emerged with three mini chocolate bars that I would consider rare, underground confections; in fact, one I honestly did not know even existed. I have never heard of Baby Ruth before. Last time I checked, that was a baseball player! (Oh wait, that’s Babe Ruth). And when is the last time you’ve seen a Butterfinger?!

IMG_2072

Also, right now I am sitting with a grocery bag over my head. It’s very beautiful. I’m attempting my very first coconut oil hair mask, which I’ve heard is just incredible + does wonders! I don’t own a shower cap, so saran wrap + a grocery bag are stepping in to save the day! I feel a little ridiculous, but am willing to put up with it so long as my hair is as silky + shiny as the ladies on shampoo commercials! *Fingers crossed*

Have you ever done a coconut oil mask?

I hope you’ve had a great week and are feeling excited for the weekend ahead!

Love,

A xo

PS – I’m going to be announcing an exciting fitness promotion in the coming days, so stay tuned for that!

PPS – Do you like cooking soups? What kind are your favourite?

Leave a Reply

