hash browns + flea market finds

*Sniffle, sniffle*

As I write this, I am bundled up in approximately four layers of clothing + the most cuddly blanket in the world (who just happens to go by the name of “Lamby”).

I’m really sick and am feeling all kinds of sorry for myself right about now. HAHAH, just kidding. I’m not THATTTT pathetic. Yesterday was my low point (poor Duncan), but today I’m actually starting to feel a bit more human. I decided to take it easy and stay at home today in the hope that I’ll get rid of this flu for good and prevent infecting my co-workers! It’s one of those flus that makes your entire body ache (just standing up is a HUGE effort). No fun 😦 I’m lucky that I’ve got such a great nurse man to fetch me teas and make me food 🙂

Today will involve lots of green smoothies, herbal teas, popsicles, soup, as many sources of vitamin C as possible, a nap, and lots of movies on the couch.

The nasty flu hit me yesterday afternoon, but before that my weekend was a blast! I’m going to stop being all doom and gloom and let you in on some of the fun weekend festivities.

Highlights included:

  • A volunteer orientation for my new (and exciting!) volunteer position at the local children’s hospital. I was on CLOUD NINE after the training and am really excited for what is sure to be an incredibly rewarding experience.
  • A birthday dinner for Duncan’s brother, Dave. I always love spending time with their family, so it was great to all get together! I can never get enough 🙂 (PS – Kathy, if you’re reading this, dinner was amazing).
  • A visit at home with the parentals, which include two excellent workout classes at my mom’s gym. Funny story: my mom and I had made plans to attend two of her favourite classes on Friday. I honestly went in thinking “ok, I’m pretty fit. How hard can it be working out with middle-aged women?”. I was in for a serious wake-up call. The first class we did was a circuit-training class where we did 1 minute intervals of 10 different dynamic exercises (like burpees, push ups, mountain climbers, jump squats) for 10 minutes straight, rested for 45 seconds and then repeated with 10 different exercises. We continued on this way for an hour. I was a sweaty mess and one of the least fit people in the class. These women were FIERCE. I swear to G, these women were incredible. The only way I felt slightly better about myself was the fact that a lot of the women in the class workout like it’s their job for HOURS every single day.
  • A house closing party (read: opposite of a house warming) at Scott’s place:

IMG_1896

  • A lazy Saturday morning breakfast. Is there anything better? I love taking the time to make a big breakfast on the weekends 🙂 It was my first time tackling hash browns and I must say that I was very happy with the result! (Recipe follows):hash browns hashbrowns and scrambled eggs hash browns scrambled eggs3
  • A beer-making experience for my friend Alex’s birthday party. It was super interesting and fun! Between our group of six people, we made two batches (each batch is about 60 beers) of different types of beer. I’m just realizing that that amounts to about 20 beers per person. We’re going to be busy!
  •   beer making 2beer making
  • A flea-market adventure with D, which included pumpkin gelato (HE-LLOOOO!) and the purchase of two amazing pressed glass (but they really look like crystal and I can’t tell the difference) pieces for $5 each! I had been looking at similar items at Anthropologie, which were going for about $20-$40 each. Needless to say, I was super pumped about my find!

IMG_1899IMG_1901IMG_1902 IMG_1905

So, other than the slight hiccup of a deadly flu, it was a wonderful weekend all in all!

And nowww the recipe for the incredible hash browns

****************************************

Weekend {Baked} Hash Browns

Serves: 4

What you’ll need:

  • 3 medium white potatoes, peeled + cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 red or orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp. onion powder
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. cayenne
  • pinch of sea salt + black pepper

What to do:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees F
  2. Soak potatoes in cold water for 15-20 minutes. The longer you soak them, the crispier they’ll be (you can even soak them in the fridge overnight if you’re super prepared!).
  3. Drain potatoes, pat dry + peel skins
  4. In a large bowl, mix potatoes, bell pepper + onion. Add oil + toss well to coat.
  5. In a small bowl, combine the garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, salt + pepper and then add into big bowl to toss with the potatoes, pepper + onion.
  6. Lightly spray a cooking sheet with cooking spray (I used PAM olive oil). Spread the potato mixture in a thin layer. Bake 30-40 minutes, shaking the pan or using a rubber spatula every 10 minutes to move around the potatoes.
  7. When potatoes are golden + crispy, serve with topping of choice (I like ketchup, but hear these go well with hot sauce!). Enjoy!

***

Hope your week is off to a great start!

Love,

A xo

Leave a Reply

