lazy dinners

Though this blog is all about food, fitness and healthy living, don’t go around thinking that I’m all fancy with my dinners every night. Though I’m known to love putting together a healthy, pretty-looking meal, I definitely have my fair share (ahem, read: LOTS) of nights where I’m just not in the mood to lift a finger. These nights usually occur when Duncan is away or not home for dinner and I’m forced to fend for myself. I’m usually not as motivated to cook something spectacular when I’m going to be the only one sitting down to eat. A big KUDOS to all of you rock stars out there that put together full dinners every single night!

So, on the nights where trash reality TV episodes on Slice, Twist or TLC are sounding way more appealing than spending time slaving over a hot stove, I have a few quick, easy go-to dinners that are still satisfying and healthy, but take under 5 minutes to put together.

  • Monster greens smoothie (aka a massive smoothie with spinach &/or kale and sometimes protein). The one pictured below is actually super filling! It contains chocolate milk (regular, almond or any kind of milk would also work), a banana, two big spoonfuls of all-natural peanut butter, a few sprinkles of flax meal, 1 scoop of protein powder + the biggest heaping handful of spinach that my wee hands could contain.

To get that extra boost, my lazy dinners almost always contain a smoothie. If I’m feeling like I need a little something more, I’ll add:

Hummus + crackers with assorted fruits + veggies

-Corn chips + pico de gallo or bruschetta

-Scrambled eggs with sautéed spinach

-A quick salad with mixed greens/spinach, whatever fruit & veg we have around the house, nuts + balsamic dressing

-Sweet potato fries (they go with anything, of course!)

-Quinoa or brown rice pasta with whichever prepared tomato sauce is in the house

-…orrrrr, back in the good old days when I was able to have gluten without feeling crappy, I would toss an easy grilled cheese or sandwich together. Unfortunately because all gluten-free bread tastes like it was made in the devil’s kitchen, this is no longer a possibility for me 😦

….andddd it looks like this lady knows how to put together a lazy dinner herself 😉

Do you have any go-to, lazy dinner ideas? Please share 🙂 I’ve been having a lot of these lazy dinners lately, as D has been working like a mad men on some different projects. Of course, take out is always an option as well! Funny side story about that, actually. This past Valentine’s Day, Duncan and I ordered our first round of take out together. First take-out in over two years living together. Isn’t that a little nutty? I’m pretty sure most people living in the city do this on a weekly basis! Anyway, it was a delicious Thai order that I’m currently getting a craving for just thinking about…

***

In other news, I’m currently shopping around for a new moisturizer, so if anyone knows of any spectacular ones (preferably with SPF), please do let me know! I had a really awkward moment in Sephora today when I was chatting to a sales rep. about his recommendations. He gave me two of his top picks, neither of which I was totally sold on. I thanked him for his help and then casually strolled around and looked at other options. There weren’t many people in the store at the time and he wasn’t helping anyone else, so he kind of just watch me NOT taking his advice. I could feel his eyes on me the whole time thinking, “that stupid girl. She’s not taking my brilliant advice.” Then I got all flustered because I wasn’t finding anything else and I felt awkward asking any other reps for help when he was in plain view, so I caved & just got the initial product he recommended. It better be good 😉

***

Andddd that’s a wrap! I hope you have enjoyed this very random post of mine and that you’re getting excited for the start of the weekend VERY soon. Any plans?! Friday night I’ve got TWO girls nights to attend (talk about fun overload), Saturday night I’ve got a date night planned (which is so necessary as I haven’t really seen my boyfriend for more than 30 minutes at a time in WEEKS), and then Sunday will be dedicated to spending with my wonderful dad to celebrate Father’s Day (we’re going to see Star Trek in 3D!)

Love,

A xo

QUESTIONS

  • What are your lazy, go-to dinner options?
  • Have you ever had an awkward experience when asking for advice in the store? Is it only me that gets flustered with this?
  • Weekend plans?! Spill the beans, people!
Leave a Reply

