thai curry chicken soup

Tonight is kinda like my Friday night. I don’t have to work tomorrow (because of my work’s awesome fortnight Friday schedule), so I’m totally in weekend mood. I came home from work tonight completely HYPED on the weekend feeling. I think I secretly love having no plans on Fridays; it allows for decompressing after a long week (and oh this one has been), chillin’ out, sipping some wine (got a glass in my hand), and looking forward to the WHOLE rest of the weekend. Just the BEST! I don’t know about you, but plopping on the couch with some good wine in my jammies sounds like the best Friday night plan ever.

Anyway, how has the rest of the week been? Mine was one of those weeks that seems to go by really slowly, even though you’re super busy and don’t have a moment of relaxation time (except for when I watched Bridezillas and Pregnant in Heels back-to-back on Slice TV last night. I swear Slice TV has the best content of all channels. Any other trash TV lovers out there?? heheh)

Highlight of the week? This gem of a soup I put together…

thaicurrychickensoup3

If you like Thai food, curry, cilantro or peanuts, then this soup is for you! It took just 30 minutes and was heavenly 🙂

Thai Curry Chicken Soup

Serves: 2-4 (depending on how hangry you are!)

Time: 30 minutes

What you need:

  • rice noodles (enough for four)
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup Thai yellow curry sauce
  • 1.4 cups coconut milk
  • one chicken breast
  • one diced red bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup. peanuts, crushed
  • as much cilantro as you can handle

What to do:

1. Bake chicken breast in oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and start cooking rice noodles; meanwhile, you can put the rest of the ingredients together and let the broth start brewin’

2. Simmer broth, curry sauce and coconut milk in a large saucepan over medium heat. Dice pepper and add to broth.

3. When noodles and chicken are finished cooking, add to saucepan.

4. Chop cilantro and put desired amount in saucepan. Ladle soup into bowls + garnish with peanuts.

5. Enjoy!

thaicurrychickensoup4

***

I hope you have a lovely Friday tomorrow and a great start to the weekend! Here in Toronto it’s the beginning of the HotDocs Film Festival, which is a celebration of a wide variety of documentaries from all over the world. I have a love for documentaries and have not been disappointed when I’ve been in past years, but really want to go EVEN more this year. I kind of made the decision a few days ago that I want to be a film buff.. soo.. this seems like a good place to start, oui? I highlighted approximately 23 films I want to see over the next few days, which, of course, would be physically impossible. We’ll see how far I get!

Love,

A xo

QUESTIONS

  • Do any film festivals come to your city? If so, do you attend?
6 thoughts on “thai curry chicken soup

    • Yeahhh it’s amazing; however, now that it’s spring in Canada.. I think I may have to move away from the soups and get into the BBQing and salads! YAY!

Leave a Reply

