the best soup you’ll ever have

Yes, I realize that’s a bit of an aggressive statement; however, I’m standing by it. I made this soup about a week ago and still think of how amazing it was. It’s perfectly tasty, perfect for a chilly winter’s eve, super healthy + easy to make. A winning combo if you ask me 😉

Now that I’ve built it up, I really hope it lives up to the expectations (if you try it out).

Here goessss..

DSC00159

Mexican Chicken Soup

Prep time: 30-minutes

Cook time: 20-minutes

Serves: 6

You’ll need:

  • 2 tbsp. (50ml) extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, peeled + chopped
  • 1 796-ml can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/4 tsp. dried cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. dried coriander
  • 1/8 tsp. chilli powder
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked + shredded
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1 avocado
  • few handfuls of corn tortilla chips
  • 4 cups chicken broth

Get cooking:

1) Heat oven to 350 degrees. Bake chicken breasts with drizzled olive oil for 30-minutes. When cooked through, shred chicken.

2) While chicken cooks, chop onion, carrot, bell pepper + cilantro.

3) Heat oil in a large pot + sauté garlic, onion, carrot + bell pepper until they start to soften, about 3-4 minutes. Add diced tomatoes, spices + chicken broth, while stirring.

4) Bring to a boil, reduce heat + simmer for 10 minutes.

5) Add corn, black beans + cooked, shredded chicken. Continue to simmer for 4 minutes.

6) Divide among bowls + top with cilantro, lime juice, avocado + crumbled tortilla chips.

7) Enjoy

You’re welcome 😉

DSC00158

DSC00162

The combination of the lime + cilantro make my taste buds do a happy dance.

I’ve been really into home-made soups this winter. I find them to be the most comforting, delicious things to have for dinner on chilly nights. I also love making a huge batch for dinners & lunches and then also freezing some for later days.

Do you ever make home-made soups? What are your favourite combinations/recipes?

***

And how’s the weekend going, my friend? Today has been QUITE the lazy day for me, not going to deny it. With a gym in our condo building, it’s easy enough for me to feel sufficiently productive if I go to the gym + then putter around the condo. There have even been days where I haven’t left the house! Pathetic, right?! I did go to the gym this morning, though, I swear! It was nice to actually do some cardio + weights after doing yoga all week (Duncan and I bought a one-week unlimited pass to a studio around our place and have been going as much as possible).

Last night I went out for dinner at Oliver & Bonnachini with some of my best girlfriends. It was an awesome night of good food, drinks + chatter and just the best way to end a very stressful week.

What are your plans for the weekend? I hope you enjoy every minute!

Love,

A xo

6 thoughts on “the best soup you’ll ever have

  1. During the cooooold winter, days of not leaving t he house are bliss. In college if it was really snowy and classes were cancelled I’d work out in my dorm, order in my meals or snack out of my fridge, and just barely do anything that made me have to go outside. It kiiiinda rocked.
    This soup looks good – Mexican chicken soups are always a win!

  2. Just made this and it was amazing! Added a bit of black pepper, swapped sweet potato for the tortilla chips – Delish! Thanks Ash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

