Probably the most random post yet

Hey ladies (& gents… if there are any of you reading this VERY girly blog)! How is the week going so far? Only.one.more.day.until.the.weekend. I’m excited!

Lately I have found myself a tad bit stressed out about all the comings & goings of the weekends (Duncan & I go between Toronto and our parents’ houses quite a bit for various reasons PLUS there have been quite a few weekend-long trips to cottages, etc.). I frequently feel like I don’t have enough time at home to do boring adult chores, like go grocery shopping, clean up the dust bunnies that make friends with our every surface + perhaps even scrub some soap scum away. Being really busy (even with great, fun stuff!) can often feel like I never have time to check these “to do’s” off my list. During the week, I come home from work, do some laundry, go to the gym, shower, make dinner, eat dinner, potentially do a blog post + then all of a sudden it’s already past by bedtime. Nights where I don’t have this routine, I’m out having fun! Anyone else with me? I’m trying to NOT stress out about my lack of chore completion, though, ESPECIALLY in the summer. I need to remind myself that “to-do’s” can wait & that I should just enjoy the moment, ‘cause YOLO (you only live once heheh) and I’m sure they’ll come a time when I will have nothing better to do than clean (hah – here’s hoping that actually won’t happen). I just have SUCH a hard time enjoying leisure time when I know I have a mounting pile of stuff to do!

Tumblr_lp2hs4xhw41qbvqopo1_500_large

In other news, I have a delectable NEW PRODUCT for you! This is quite possibly the best granola I have ever had. It tastes like a crumbled up cookie made with amazingness and just makes my taste buds sing. Best part? It has a very simple ingredient list + is GLUTEN-FREE! Yayyyyyy!

IMG_0142

LOVE GROWN Simply Oats. It’s free of refined sugar, trans fats, artificial flavours, wheat, high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, preservatives + genetically modified ingredients. Phew. Now, what does it contain, you ask? Certified Gluten-Free Oats, honey, organic agave syrup, non-GMO canola oil, sunflower seeds, pure vanilla, milled flaxseed, cinnamon + sea salt! The serving size (1/4 cup) contains 130 calories, 3g fibre (12%), 3g protein, + only 7g of sugar (VERY low for granola!). I love how simple the ingredients are – makes me so happy. Possibly the best part? The company works in communities with schools, teachers, parents + students to educate them on how eating healthy can be accessible + flavourful. Love at first taste ❤

IMG_0143

For those of you wondering, the price point is VERY reasonable! This 340g bag was only $2.99 at Sobeys!

Also… did you notice an odd-looking monster in the right frame of the first photo? Look… seeee? Okay, funny story: Duncan & I painted that little guy a few years ago at one of those pottery/ceramic painting workshops very popular among the under nine crowd for birthday parties. Classic. Anyway, we call him “le monstre” & he is our piggy bank that holds our dollar-a-day fund. What we do is put $1 in him (& $1 in another piggy bank) each = $2 a day. We save up for things like nice dinners out, vacations, etc. It adds up SO quickly & honestly isn’t even noticeable (though sometimes I do get behind/forget to put in my payments & have to put in a $20 bill, which is slightly painful!).

In other news.. I’m on a MISSION. A big, serious mission to get to the bottom of my after-eating bloating. Sorry if this is too personal, but I just figure that since I’m writing a healthy living blog, I should be open & honest about my eating habits and also use you (probably very health-conscious yourself!) for your input on the issue!

As I’ve mentioned, eliminating gluten (for the most part) has helped with some other digestive issues I was having. My other big issue I have is bloating after I eat. When I wake up, my stomach is normal & pretty flat; however, throughout the day, it expands with air & literally looks like I’m carrying twins. Or a balloon. I’m getting really sick of it, so I’ve decided to try eliminating common causes of stomach bloating & see if I can find a root cause!

Based on some research I’ve done, it looks like the following foods/food substances attribute to bloating:

  • high-salt foods (not an issue for me & I can’t be too careful with sodium/potassium levels as I’m already borderline too low)
  • high-carb diets
  • legumes, cauliflower, broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, cabbage, onions, peppers + citrus fruits
  • raw fruits & vegetables (particularly fibrous ones)
  • acidic drinks, like alcohol, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, + fruit juices
  • fried, fatty foods
  • spicy foods (including foods with black pepper, nutmeg, cloves, chilli powder, hot sauce, onions, etc)
  • carbonated drinks
  • sugar alcohols/sweeteners (I’m looking at you, low-calorie Gatorade!)
  • protein powders/protein bars
  • lactose
  • gluten

There are also a few behaviours which can enhance bloating, including chewing gum (which I don’t do anyway) + eating too quickly (something I can definitely work on). I’ve also been trying to drink ginger + peppermint tea to chillax my tum tum.

I’m going to try eliminating each of the items in the “trigger” list for a few days & see if it makes a difference! Ugh. Wish me luck.

And on that note, I’m off to clean the kitchen! Tonight we had an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G meal of salmon with peach salsa, which I will share with you guys over the weekend! Speaking of weekend – any plans?

Have a lovely start to the weekend tomorra! Celebrate!!

Love,

A xo

QUESTIONS

  • Do you ever feel like you never get around to your to-do lists? How do you juggle commitments with your busy lifestyle?
  • Do you get bloated after eating? If so, have you figured out what causes it?
  • If you saved up $2/day, what would you do with it at the end of a year?!
4 thoughts on “Probably the most random post yet

  1. Oh my gosh, YES. I struggle every day to balance everything and then all of a sudden I realize that I have no clean socks, an empty refrigerator and it’s midnight – oops!

    I’m a total control freak, but I’m learning that it asking for help REALLY makes a difference. I’ve learned to accept that my husband might not clean the stove my way, but it’s still clean enough and we split a lot of household chores now.

    It’s a journey 🙂

    • Hahaha! I still need to learn how to “ask for help.” I usually ask for help when it’s too late & I’ve already reached the point of being grumpy/stressed.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try LoveGrown granola! Thanks for the heads up that Sobeyes carries it! 🙂 Good luck on the quest to your digestive health – elmininating common allergens is a great place to start! Some other things to keep in mind (that helped me) not chewing your food thoroughly/eating too fast, eating too many types of food in one sitting (ideally, fruit should be eaten by itself, not more than one protein per meal, protein + starch = bloating) or drinking water with meals, as it dilutes digestive enzymes in the stomach. Let me know how it goes! 🙂

    • Yes! Definitely try LoveGrown – soo good. There are a ton of different flavours, but the one I got was the only one that didn’t contain coconut (I’m allergic). Thanks so much for your tips .. I will try them out!

Leave a Reply

