Chicken with Pineapple Salsa

Holy batman do I have a yummy recipe to share with you! Last night I came home after going out for a drinkypoo with a co-worker & immediately whipped together this awesome dish. The marinade only took about ten minutes to prep. After marinating the chicken for about 30 minutes, the boy took the (chicken) breasts (heheh) upstairs & BBQ-ed away. Ohh easy summer cooking 🙂 I love not having to partake in the whole cooking process; it makes life seem so much easier!

Anyway, here it is folks!

(BTW, this picture is horrendous because it was really dark outside when we ate + I was using Duncan’s blackberry camera. Blackberry camera < iPhone camera)

chicken with pineapple salsachicken with pineapple salsa

Chicken with Pineapple Salsa

  • Serves: 2
  • Ingredients for Marinade:
    • 2 c. chopped pineapple
    • 2 garlic cloves
    • 1 tsp. dried rosemary
    • pinch of salt + pepper
    • 1/2 c. water
    • + 2 chicken breasts
  • Ingredients for the Salsa:
    • 2 c. finely diced pineapple
    • 2 diced tomatoes
    • 1/2 c. chopped baby spinach
    • 1 tbsp. olive oil
    • 2 garlic cloves, minced
    • 2 tbsp. basil
    • pinch of salt
  • Directions:
    1. For marinade: place pineapple, garlic, rosemary, salt, pepper + water in a blender + blend away.
    2. Place chicken + 3/4 of the marinade into a large ziploc bag. Coat chicken in the marinade + let stand for 30 minutes (or more!). Reserve remaining pineapple mixture for basting.
    3. While the chicken marinades, make the salsa. In a medium bowl, combine all the ingredients.
    4. Grill chicken for approximately 5 minutes per side, basting with remaining marinade half way through.
    5. Serve grilled chicken topped with the salsa – enjoy!

We enjoyed these chicken breasts with some bruschetta on the side! A delicious summer meal.

***

In other news, I finally found a gluten-free oatmeal! Wahoo! After doing lots of research, I’ve discovered that while oats are innately gluten-free, they are often contaminated with wheat in the farming/growing, milling + transportation process. Most oatmeal manufacturers cannot guarantee that their product is g-free. I’m so happy I stumbled upon this (ghetto-looking) goodness:

IMG_3706

Another bonus to this stuff is that the ingredient list is so simple. Tons of packaged oatmeals (with the exception of unflavoured or steel-cut oats) have so many added and unnatural sweeteners & other unpronounceable items. This stuff is pretty natural: oats, raisins, maple sugar, brown sugar, flax meal + salt.

IMG_3707

It has an impressive 6g of protein + 4g of fibre per packet!

IMG_3708

It was (very much) enjoyed this morning alongside sliced banana, pecans, + sprinkled cinnamon, sliced apple & some tropical fruit juice!

IMG_3709

IMG_3710

For those of you who are interested, I picked up this oatmeal at Sobeys for only $3.99! 🙂 Gluten-free stuff that isn’t ridiculously more expensive than their “normal” counterparts makes me a very happy girl.

***

Today’s workout was a 40-minute speed interval on the elliptical. I’m trying to only run once a week now (my distance run) in training for the Scotiabank Half (my first half) since I’m starting to develop shin splints & don’t want to make them any worse! The other days of the week I do other forms of cardio + strength training.

Btw, our gym has a really funk-a-luscious elliptical like I’ve never seen before. It gives you the ability to increase the incline, making for an ultra booty burn. Do you have access to an elliptical like this? Have you used one before? If you’re interested, click the photo below to check out a “booty-luscious” incline elliptical workout from FitSugar.

Now it’s 9 PM and I haven’t had dinner yet. The boy isn’t home yet & I’m too lazy to make myself a nice “real” dinner, so I think I may just have a binner (whaaa?). That’s right, a binnner .. it’s a breakfast dinner – the best kinds! They can include waffles, smoothies, scrambled eggs, toast, & many other options for the lazy girl in you!

What’s on for the weekend, guys? I’m REALLY pumped that I don’t have to work tomorrow! WOOHOO. It’s the first “fortnight friday” I’ve had off that I don’t have plans or another commitment (the last few have been rained on by doctor’s appointments!). I plan to use the day to it’s fullest 🙂

Now I’m off to toss together some binner, paint my nails + read celebrity trash magazines. This is the good life.

Nighty night!

Love,

A xo

3 thoughts on “Chicken with Pineapple Salsa

Leave a Reply

