I HEART CARBS

Happy Thursday!!! The weekend is upon us in just a few short hours .. okay, maybe a bit more than that. How has your week been so far?

Even though I really haven’t done a whole lot this week, I still feel like I’ve been super busy. Does anyone else ever feel like this? I guess by the time I get home from work, shower, make dinner, eat dinner, & then clean up it’s around this time (9:30) & I feel like the night is coming to an end!

Tonight I was actually supposed to go out with some friends, but then it ended up being a boys-only affair (COUGH sausage fest), so I’m chillin’ at home. It’s probs for the best, though, since I’m not feeling so hot! Hopefully a night of relaxing & ginger tea (a true gem) will fix that!

So, day four of the gluten-free phase is coming to a close! I actually don’t feel a whole lot better stomach-wise, but I *think* I’m noticing a difference in my energy levels. Despite having a less-than-stellar sleep last night, I’m surprisingly energetic & feel MUCH less lethargic than I’ve been feeling over the last few weeks/months. Maybe it’s in my head? It’s hard to tell! Anyone else have experience with going g-free due to perceived sensitivity or celiac?

Day four’s eats went a little like this…

Breakfast – oatmeal with flax, sliced bananas + cashews; orange juice; orange pekoe tea (didn’t snap a photo .. whoops!)

Lunch – scrambled eggs with spinach + sweet potato; black bean chips

IMG_3654

Dinner – monster salad with spinach, broccoli, corn, cashews, peanuts, sunflower seeds, chickpeas, + roasted turkey. I tried a new Honey Dijon salad dressing recipe (since most bottled versions have gluten) that was a-mazing. It was semi-sweet & really light. So easy to make, as well!

IMG_3655

Snacks – chocolate (fruit + nut bar!), apple, yogurt with hemp + chia seeds and blueberries, buckwheat waffle (tonight’s bedtime snack), earl grey tea latte, anddd perhaps a few nibs!

***

As I traverse this land of no gluten (at least for the next month or so), I’m really trying to still get enough carbohydrates from complex carbs & starches, like potatoes, quinoa, brown rice, & oats. Some people think this is crazy & that a gluten-free diet means low carb. Nuh uh. I’m a big believer in (complex) carbs & am so against low carb diets. I’m all for cutting out the “bad”, simple carbs like white breads & pastas, sodas, pastries, etc., but don’t believe in reducing complex carbohydrates like whole grains. Why, you ask? Carbs play a very important role in.. well, living.

Carbohydrates provide about half of all the energy muscles & other body tissues use (in the form of glucose & glycogen). It is the preferred fuel source of the brain (kinda important). When you eliminate carbohydrates from your diet, or even if you were to go on a very low-carb diet, you not only remove some very nutritious foods, but you put yourself at risk of running on empty! When low or no carbs are ingested, the body basically breaks down its proteins to make glucose. Since protein has jobs of its own that no other nutrient can do, it’s very dangerous & inefficient to run off body proteins. When as much protein can be converted, the body then uses FAT as its next preferred fuel source (though the body uses some fat for fuel anyway, in this stage it is using fat as the PRIMARY source). Sounds good, right? WRONG! Using fat as the primary energy source can put your body into a state called ketosis, which can cause an array of serious health problems, particularly kidney failure. Please note: I’m not advocating for a high-carb diet; all I’m saying is that it’s not good to eliminate complex, healthy carbohydrates.

So.. don’t go carb-free on me, k? 🙂 Annnd rant over.

***

The workout of the day was very minimal as I’m still sore from my weights yesterday! I did 20 minutes of HIIT on the bike & then did a long, relaxing full-body stretch. Sigggh.

***

In other news … I finished THE HUNGER GAMES today!!!! Okay, I already know, don’t say it & don’t roll your eyes. I can feel you rolling your eyes at me. I’m SO behind in the times. Everyone else on the friggin’ planet has already read all three books & I’m the only one who just finished the first. I’ll admit I was a little teeny bit late to the party, but at least I made it! Right? Right? Anyway, I’m completely obsessed & can’t wait to breeze through books two & three. I’m SO happy I waited to see the movie until finishing the book & am really excited for it!

***

I’m off to pack a bag for tomorrow’s trip to visit the parentals & perhaps squeeze in an episode of ‘Girls’!

Lots of Love,

A xoxo

Questions

  • What does your typical day/routine look like? I am the only one that feels like I have no time?!
  • What are some of your favourite whole grains? I want to try amaranth & millet, but would like to hear from some of you first!
  • For Hunger Game fans – book or movie? Which did you like more?
One thought on “I HEART CARBS

  1. I’m pretty sure that all the fitness, foodie, and nutrition nuts needs to get together at a bloggers convention. I can’t stop finding good blogs and I really need to go mow the lawn!!!

Leave a Reply

