Fancy pants

The past few days I’ve been having some really fancy eats. I don’t really know why or how this came about, but I’m digging it.

I’ve seen this 479 popcorn in the stores for a few months now and have such an urge to try it every time. Well, yesterday I finally caved. Why? .. why not?! You only live once – eat the food you enjoy!

IMG_3531

If there are any fellow caramel corn lovers out there, I highly recommend trying this out! Not only does it taste HEAVENLY, but it’s actually not the worst thing in the world (health wise).

The elaborate description of their corn sourcing and “artisan” creation process are frankly a little too much for me. Who knew popcorn could be “heirloom”?! Anyway, the actually ingredient list + nutrition info are really impressive. There are only 100 calories per serving & negligible amounts of sugar. Because there is quite a bit of fibre, the snack actually keeps you feeling satisfied, unlike some completely empty calorie treats. What I also like is that all of the ingredients are recognizable; it’s basically made of popcorn, salt (French sea salt .. pft), coconut oil + agave nectar. Try it out and let me know what you think!

Other fancy pants items –

*Melon + prosciutto salad (sprinkled with sea salt + thyme)

IMG_3532

Actually, that’s kind of a lie. Next time I will use high quality prosciutto, but this attempt was put together with Serrano ham, which I’m told is very similar. The main difference is that Serrano is a Spanish item (as opposed to the Italian prosciutto) & is aged at a higher altitude. Although I love the taste of prosciutto, I feel absolutely awful having it. Why, you ask? Because little piggies are my favourite animal (think cute little Telus pig and not big honkin’ porker). I haven’t consumed any form of ham in YEARS. YEARS! (NO, not even bacon). On our recent trip to Europe, it was almost impossible to avoid and so I was forced into having prosciutto here and there. I kind of became in love with it and now am highly conflicted/slightly disgusted whenever I eat it. Sigh.

*Homemade salmon burgers

IMG_3535

SO good! I got this recipe from the “Healthier Burger” article in this month’s Women’s Health magazine (I’m a proud subscriber!). I’m going to try making all of the different kinds by the end of the month, but started making a dent in the list last night. I must admit, I felt really proud of myself last night after making these. I started off being kind of doubtful (raw salmon patties aren’t the most attractive things I’ve feasted my eyes on), but then slowly built excitement as I realized things were working out! Anyway, this burger is SUPER healthy, easy + quick to make and only involves about five nutritious ingredients. MMM. I cheated a bit and didn’t use the suggested toppings – instead, I opted for tzatziki, arugula, sliced tomato + black pepper.

*Peach Arugula Salad

IMG_3536

In the mix – arugula, fresh peaches, aged white cheddar cheese, pecans, fresh basil + a white wine vinaigrette.

***

Today’s workout was a VERY brief, but kinda effective one. I use the word “effective” loosely, because I was highly distracted at the gym by my new love: the iPhone. I sometimes check my phone in between sets, but it was getting kinda out of hand today, I must admit.

Anyway, the workout was focused on abs, with a lil’ bit of arm work thrown in. I started with a 5-minute cardio warm up, then completed the following moves with about 30 seconds-1 minute of rest in between each set:

(Mostly) Abs Routine 

*Swiss Ball Roll Out – 15 reps x 2 sets
*Forearm plank – 1 minute
*Yoga (straight arm) plank – 1 minute
*Pulsing Squats to Shoulder Press – 15 lb. x 6 reps; 10 lb. x 8 reps
*Bicycle Crunches – 25 reps, rest, then 15 reps
*Chest Press – 10 lb. x 15 reps x 2 sets


TIME = 20 minutes

Even though I know it’s already Tuesday, I thought I’d throw out my fitness plans for the week. Better late than never, right?! I’m also going to start bringing back the “Weekly Planning + Challenge” on Sundays. This is where I share my meal + workout plans for the week, as well as a simple health challenge for  you to try during the week. What do you guys think? Is this something you would like to see again? Your input means a lot to me!

This week in fitness*

M-distance run (8.1k)

T-weights (mostly abs routine)

W-speed run (4.1k)

T-weights (full body)

F-rest

S-hill run (4.1k)

S-rest

What are you up to this week? Any exciting plans? I’ve got a dinner with friends scheduled on Thursday & a birthday BBQ on Saturday to look forward to! This week seems to be going by very slow for me, though. Not my best! On a positive note, it’s been one week since I’ve had my loop heart monitor on, which means I’m over the hump with only one more week to go! It’s actually not that bad; it just makes dressing, particularly in the summer, quite a challenge. Fun fact: when I was getting the monitor put on, the cardiologist said “don’t be embarrassed. just tell your friends that you’re testing the new Blackberry pager.” Riiiight. No one uses pagers anymore, let alone a RIM product! OUCH. Too soon?

On another side note, I just started watching the HBO series “Girls” tonight. I’m only one episode in, but I can already see what all the hype is about. I’m lovin’ the sarcasm.

Nighty night love bugs,

A xoxo

Question:

  • Do you plan out your workouts throughout the week?
  • Are you a “Girls” fan? I know you’re out there!
3 thoughts on “Fancy pants

Leave a Reply

