Sneaky

Tonight for dinner I tried a new, kinda different recipe: Black Bean Oat Burgers. It was such a satisfying experience! Sorry to sound so lame… but it’s true! These babies were so incredibly easy to make, super healthy & made me feel very accomplished for some reason. I love that these actually look like beef burger patties (hence, the reason for naming this post “sneaky”), but yet I know exactly what went into them! The patties themselves are made of just a few ingredients: black beans, oats, egg, mushrooms, pepper + cumin.

IMG_3435

IMG_3436

You can try the recipe for yourself here. I followed the steps for the most part, but decided to pan fry the patties rather than BBQ them; this is because a) I don’t know how to BBQ and Duncan was at the gym; and b) the mix was too mushy for me to form them into proper patties on a BBQ (think oozing through the grill racks mmmmm). The reason for the less than ideal consistency is that we currently do not have a food processor. This is probably a huge sin in the food/nutrition/fitness blogging world. Yes, I am ashamed. What we’re using now is a really sorry excuse for a food processor, let alone a blender: the Magic Bullet. With that said, I am in the market for a real, grown up food processor – anyone have a favourite out there they’d like to recommend? I’m pretty price sensitive, so something on the economical side would be ideal 🙂

***

In other news, I had a really good day despite being exhausted from a lack of sleep last night. I have such a hard time tearing myself away from whatever I’m doing at night to actually get ready for bed. Once I’ve committed to it, I’m usually very happy with the decision.. but I often get so wrapped up in blogging or reading or cleaning or just hanging out with the boy that I don’t kick myself into bed! And I’m someone who needs a lot of sleep. Seriously. It’s a disaster when I don’t get my beauty rest: I’m grumpy, forgetful, literally forget how to speak the English language, have bloodshot eyes + my skin breaks out. Not a pretty sight.

In terms of the gym, I did 30 minutes of HIIT (high impact interval training) on the elliptical & then some ab work. I’ve gotta be in a bikini allll weekend long, so I’m trying to make it to the gym every day this week 😉

For those of you who aren’t familiar with HIITs, I highly recommend incorporating them into your regular cardio routine. HIITs are a form of interval training that employs alternating periods of short intense anaerobic exercise with less intense recovery periods. HIIT sessions have been proven to be significantly more efficient than steady state cardio sessions. In other words, if you had 20-minutes to do any sort of cardio activity, it would be better use of your time to do a HIIT session than keeping a steady pace (even if the steady pace was quite fast). HIIT workouts are intense, but deliver a higher caloric burn, significantly improve athletic conditioning, glucose metabolism & fat burning. The recommend “ratio” is anywhere from 2:1 to 3:1. I personally prefer to do 1 minute max effort with 2 minutes recovery, but you can try and stick with any alternating pattern that suits you best (e.g. 30 seconds max with 1 minute 30 seconds recovery, etc).

And with all this talk of working out hard, I’m officially pooped. Time to turn in for me! Hope you’re having a great night & have sweet dreams knowing that tomorrow is HUMP DAY woo hoo! I’m particularly excited because tomorrow after work the lovely Morgan from Life After Bagels has agreed to meet with me to discuss the blogging community in Canada & the GTA! Looking forward to it muchos!

***

Also, just for fun, check out this HILARIOUS video of Barack Obama “rapping” Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call me Maybe”

***

Love,

A xoxo

Questions:

  • Do you guys have any last minute fail-proof bikini body tactics?
9 thoughts on “Sneaky

  1. Hey girl! GREAT recap of HIIT. I love that Obama video – so hysterical! Hahaha.Those burgers are right up my alley too. They look so amazing!

    • Awesome! I’m so glad you found me 🙂 I’ll definitely check out your blog as well. HLS = healthy living summit? I don’t think I’m going. I live in Toronto so it’s a bit of a mission for me to travel to U.S. conferences! I will try one day, though. Are you going?

Leave a Reply

